15
Mar
12

Thank you Mr.Fisher

Look, I was just as shocked as any Laker fan out there after finding out that Derek Fisher had been traded away.  I really don’t think anybody saw this coming.  Not any NBA scribe or “expert” analyst, not any of the Laker players themselves, certainly not Fish himself.  Heck, not even Miss Cleo could have seen this one coming.  Truly left field status man..  But I didn’t want to see him go.  I just figured dude should ride the bench and quietly bow out into a Laker front office or coaching staff job or something.

I mean…wow.

After I picked my jaw up off the floor and gathered my suddenly scattered thoughts, I tried to make sense of this trade immediately, right along with the other trade the Lakers made in getting Ramon Sessions and Christian Eyenga.  For the specifics on the Fisher to the Houston Rockets trade, he and a first round pick was being sent there in exchange for young big man Jordan Hill.  In the other deal made, Laker small forwards Luke Walton and Jason Kapono were shipped off to the Cleveland Cavaliers in exchange for the point guarded that they needed, Ramon Sessions, and athletic wing Christian Eyenga.

As stated previously, I’ve been on board with the Ramon Sessions deal ever since I caught wind of the Lakers showing interest in him.  He’s the young, quick, efficient point guard that the they have needed this whole season.  As for Christian Eyenga, he’s still far from being NBA ready and lacks much polish.  However, he’s a freak of an athlete and could make some contributions if he earns himself some playing time.  My guess is that he’ll be sent to the D-League for some more seasoning and the Lakers can evaluate him more from there.  But yeah, this deal right here is aces all around kids.  Mitch sent off two of the Lakers’ worst players (along with their worst contract in Luke Walton) and addressed their need at point guard.  Salary was shed, the point guard position was upgraded.  Bravo Mitch.

As for the trade that dealt Derek Fisher and a first rounder for Jordan Hill, understandably I found myself inherently against it.  But of course, that was just nostalgia and sentiment causing the knee jerk reaction there.  As soon as I sussed out the positives we could take from this trade, I began to soften my stance.  Basically we traded an unproductive, ancient point guard who was a defensive (and sometimes offensive) liability in Derek Fisher for a young player in Jordan Hill who can provide some front court depth and could contribute right away.  As for the first round pick, it would have been in the high 20’s anyway and I’m thinking Laker management figured that player still wouldn’t be as good as getting Ramon Sessions now anyways.  What’s more, Mitch was shedding even more salary here, thus giving them more flexibility in the future.

I’ve gotta give it to Mitch man, he’s got a tough job and I’m sure that separating his personal affinity for Fish from the business aspect of things was more than likely extremely difficult, especially with how big of a character guy and class act Derek is.

See the thing that doesn’t have me completely on board with this trade with Fish is that the Lakers are losing the only person who not only can corral Kobe’s emotions whenever they go by the wayside (along with his shot selection) but also had the complete trust of his.  This was an iron clad bond that was forged through the wars they’ve encountered together en route to 5 championships.  Derek’s championship caliber leadership and voice of reason on the court and in the Laker locker room cannot be replaced and most of all, neither can his knack for hitting the big shot when it came down to crunch time.

Logically speaking, both deals just made the Lakers younger, better and more flexible salary wise.  For basketball reasons strictly, I’m ecstatic about these moves and can only applaud Mitch for once again making some prudent and crucial moves to keep the Lakers contending for a championship.

But then things like sentiment and nostalgia exist and I start to think about 0.4, the driving and-one layup against the Celtics in the Finals and all the huge three’s Fish hit to seemingly save the Lakers each time.

But hey, showtime must go on and what we have now is a deeper, younger Laker team that’s suddenly back in championship contention.

Derek Fisher. 5 rings. Greatest role player of all time. The now former captain of the Lakers. You will be missed.

2 Responses to “Thank you Mr.Fisher”


  1. March 15, 2012 at 11:19 PM

    I am new to this WordPress thing and posted my first blog today. Looking for some feedback so please check my page out! On to the more important stuff…
    I am shocked too on the Derek Fisher trade, but I think leadership is looking forward to the future. Derek Fisher was to the Lakers the epitome of a teammate. Unselfishly passing the ball and willing to take the big shot if called upon. Not a Lakers a fan, but much to respect and success to him with the Rockets.

  2. March 16, 2012 at 12:26 AM

    I wish he could’ve ridden it out with the Lakers too…I’m going to miss him. Great entry!


Leave a Reply

Join 13 other followers

Twatter


